Each law school is entitled to have two "delegates" – members who can vote and serve as officers/directors – each academic year. "Delegates" can be those who are otherwise eligible for membership: legal writing directors, co-/associate directors, professors in directorless programs, persons of stature, persons who are fulfilling officer or board terms, and past directors who are not currently supervised by a director. In addition, a person can be a delegate (and hence, a member) if he or she is a person who teaches legal writing, has a significant commitment to ALWD’s mission, and is selected by his or her school to be the delegate for that academic year.

If a school has a legal writing director, he or she is entitled to select the school’s two delegates each academic year. At directorless schools, the writing faculty collectively selects the school’s two delegates for that academic year, yet all of them can continue to be members.

If you are not sure whether you are eligible for membership, please download the Bylaws. Article IV addresses membership. If you still have questions, please contact us.


The annual membership dues of the Association of Legal Writing Directors are $50 per member. You must be paid in full in order to vote in ALWD elections.

You must complete the membership application for your school online.

You must pay $50 for each member.  A confirmation email with your membership information will be sent to you.

Here is ALWD's W-9 in case your school requires it.

Additional Resources

If you are trying to find a legal writing professor who is not included in this directory, we suggest searching the following Internet sites, which link to many law school websites or contain email links for individual law professors.

To access the online registration form, click HERE